File indexing on Fedora 11 for KDE4.3

Today I’ve got really frustrated that I cannot search through my documents quickly and made a quick research to see why Strigi (which is an file indexing service) cannot be integrated with Nepomuk under my KDE 4.3 installation. I won’t go in details why it was not working but if you would like to make that integration you can read first that blog post which I found very useful:

Nepomuk + Strigi –> Resolving the mystery

With two words – there is a missing part which is responsible for the nepomuk->strigi integration and this is the soprano backend. Reading the instructions in the above blogpost I’ve just recompiled the rpm for the current 4.3 version of KDE.

So what you need to do is grab and install this package

#yum localinstall –nogpgcheck soprano-backend-sesame2-2.3.0-3.fc11.i386.rpm

#yum install strigi

nepomik-strigi

After this – its up to you – Either reboot or relogin to your KDE session and you should see something like this:

So – fire up dolphin and start your search now! 🙂

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “File indexing on Fedora 11 for KDE4.3

  1. Anne Wilson says:

    So now it’s installed, what else may be necessary? Does the redland backend have to be removed? What checks can I make to see why it doesn’t work?

  2. Hi, I don’t think one should remove anything for this to work – the problem could be that you are using KDE 4.3.1 – this package is for the 4.3.0 version.
    Currently this stopped working on my machine and I’m planning to post an updated package for the 4.3.1 version if I’m able to get it working again.

Leave a Reply

